Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Hdr

Fat Tire Fatty
    Oct 2006

Hdr

I know some don't consider this legitimate "photography",but I believe when done right you can create very interesting images. Anyone have thoughts/images they'd like to share?

FWIW - I am a complete novice when it comes to HDR. This image is a merely an attempt on my part to start a discussion regarding the merits of HDR. It is not meant to represent HDR "done right".
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Hdr-trinidad-lighthouse.jpg  

Last edited by fatstevie; 01-29-2012 at 07:59 PM.

Look at the time!
    Interesting subject, but I believe this would have looked better taken in natural light (different time of the day maybe) without the HDR.
    For example, the effects of the HDR processing are quite visible near the bell. The white posts are actually brighter at the bottom than the horizontal bar, which looks weird. The bushes in the foreground are brighter than the ocean, the bush on the far left and the cliffs behind the lighthouse are "glowing".

Maybe it's just because I don't like the HDR look at all. HDRs to me are only good if you can't tell that they are HDRs.

Have a look at this, I believe it is painfully true sometimes:
    http://i.imgur.com/b2feF.png
    Last edited by lelebebbel; 01-29-2012 at 06:59 PM.
    wanted: Cannondale Lefty w/ V-brake studs

mtbr member
    May 2008
    My father is stuck on HDR. I do like some of his pics but I feel as though most look pretty fake. Specifically its usually the clouds. They always look like there is going to be a massive apocalyptic storm. The picture you posted above looks good though :thumbup:

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Jan 2012