Thread: go pro? or no?

mtbr member
    Oct 2013

go pro? or no?

are go pro's really the best? does anyone know if anything is better for MTBing. i'm just concerned about the bouncing and shaking, i don't want choppy video.

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    Sony has image stabilization, although its' digital. It works pretty well and the newer models are supposed to work even better. Your other options is have more secure mounting system, have a gimbaled, gyro, mechanical stabilized mount, do digital IS in post processing.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    juuust kidding the new GoPro 4 is pretty frikin SWEETT!!! so i'm going to get that.

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    Hmm, official info is out. No IS but I guess maybe their thoughts are the real pros know how to deal with it so don't need it in the camera, and it degrades image quality.
    Since I'm not a pro and I can't see working in 4k, I'm leaning toward the new Sony.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    the new go pro 4 does have image stabilizer. and it also has a 120 fps with 1080p which i like. i think i'm going for the new go pro 4

mtbr member
    GoPro Hero3+ user here. I find that the stabilization of the video depends largely on the mount. For example, the handlebar mount is noticeably more shaky than the chest mount. That said, the handlebar mount is one of the most versatile mounts I have! And it's not too pricey! I definitely recommend and a GoPro and the Hero4 looks legit!

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    I have not seen in any official documentation mention of the GP 4 having IS. You can of course do it with software in post, but if you're not into the post production effort its nice to have it in camera.