mtbr member
    Sep 2010

$4.3 million photo

2480_44-gursky

Really? $4.3 Million for That Photo? | Raw File | Wired.com

Hell, i could've sold them one like that for $2 million.....

mtbr member
    Maybe it is $1 per pixel

Did the photographer give any reasons for such a high price?

saddlemeat
    Quote Originally Posted by newnan3 View Post
    2480_44-gursky

Really? $4.3 Million for That Photo? | Raw File | Wired.com

Hell, i could've sold them one like that for $2 million.....
    One "like" that isn't worth much.

It's a fascinating image several ways. The focal point is in the center, the composition divides the image in the center, the periphery dances your eye to the center with it's perceived motion, bringing the image to life. I would expect it is rather large and a real experience to stand in front of. The man is an accomplished artist who created a fine art movement and world class fine art is worth a lot of money. I'm a fine art photographer myself so maybe I'm a little biased.
    A Useful Bear is a handy thing.

offroader
    Dec 2008
    What a waste of 4.3 million dollars.

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiwiplague View Post
    Maybe it is $1 per pixel

Did the photographer give any reasons for such a high price?
    It was the sale price at auction..... Part of the reason I guess is the size and apparently he doesnt do too many of the prints thereby making it sorta rare.

Interestingly, below is the previous record holder for most expensive photograph sold at auction for $3.89 million.

Cindy Sherman, "Untitled #96."
    sherman3

mtbr member