mtbr member
    May 2009

trails around Shady Maple, East Earl, PA

Coworker's been raving about the buffet in Pennsylvania called Shady Maple so I'm thinking of making a visit, but going just that distance just for food seems a bit much so I'm wondering if anyone knows of trails nearby. Mainly looking for cross country type stuff and less technical since I'm a beginner.

East Earl, PA, 17519

mtbr member
    I've been there once, overcrowed and over-hyped IMHO. I am personally not a fan of buffets but to each his own.

Using Shady Maple as a center point, if you are coming from the West, I would say Rocky Ridge in York. Coming from the East French Creek. Coming from the south White Clay/Middle Run, Fair Hill or Brandywine. I'm not familiar with anything to the north of that area. If you are a beginner and can make it work, White Clay/Middle Run would be perfect.

mtbr member
    You could do Camp Mack. Shady Maple is all right but nothing really special. Expensive for what it is.
    On MTBR, the reputation is infamous.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    Shady Maple - This place has shaped the landscapes of many Pennsylvanian's waist lines.

CLOSED ON SUNDAYS.

Over priced, Crowded, Largest Buffet in the area. I'm a fan but don't make a trip just to eat.

To the West - Mt Gretna and Swatara State Park. Both well maintained.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    We only go for the breakfast,which is pretty good imo and free on your birthday.Wouldn't go for lunch or dinner as others have said.If you feel like driving north about 40 min there is Blue Marsh Lake,some people hate and some people like..30miles give or take,.. to go around the lake with smaller loops possible as well,nothing tech,mostly smooth flowy kinda of stuff.

smartass
    Marsh Creek is not far, and probably the best trails in that area, worth a trip up just for that.

Shady Maple is disgusting, it's like the Wal Mart of restaurants, don't waste your money.

mtbr member