Super Clyde

Thinking about relocating.

I'm thinking about moving to somewhere that is more mountain bike friendly. I'm looking in SE PA as well as Asheville, NC. I'm thinking either the Lehigh Valley Area or York area. I lived in Northampton County, about 20 mins from Blue Mountain as a kid, and my Mom lives in the York area, so I'm somewhat familiar with those areas. I'm currently a nurse, and the company I work for has offices in both cities. What is available to ride in those areas? I'm essentially a beginner now, it's been about 11 years since I've seen any single track, and I didn't ride a whole lot back then. I'm picking up a Trek Stache 8 when they are available next month. As of now all my riding, about 250 miles worth, has been on the roads, on my old mountain bike with slicks.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Can really go wrong with either place. And I love the trails we have here in SE PA. And the way of life here is amazing. I absolutely love it here.

That said, if MTB is your primary purpose of such a move... go to Asheville. SO much amazing riding there. Asheville is one of the very few places (ok, two places - that and parts of Ft. Collins, CO) that I would pick up and move to tomorrow from here.

Also on consideration: You can't go wrong with the beer in either place.

banned
    Apr 2009
    Rocky Ridge in York is my 2nd favorite trail (THE WISS in Philly is the first)----and here you are an hour from Fair Hill.. also French Creek, etc..

This is Real Mountain biking here (rocky, rooty...) I just can't fathom how folks ride sooth hills out west... on a mountainbike??? just get a road bike for that!!

Twisty, turny, short and steep up and downs, rocky, rooty---that is what of think of when riding a mountain bike......

mtbr member
    Honestly, there are some nice places here but they are nothing compared to what you can find around Asheville, NC. No comparison. If you have that opportunity, go there.