Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Snakes in PA??

mtbr member
    May 2006

Snakes in PA??

I'm new to the sport of mountain biking. I live in Northeast PA and encountered a snake on the trail the other day. My friend was riding in front of me and he didn't see it but I did and barely missed running it over. I'm pretty sure it was only a gartner snake. From what I understand, there are two types of poisionous snakes in our area; the rattlesnake and the copperhead. Has anyone had any experience with these snakes while riding? How do they react around people and bikes? Anyinformation or input is greatly appreciated.

Life is Good
    Well, I've never had any experiences with rattlers or copperheads, but I've ran into many a snake in my day lol.

As with any snake, they aren't going to react kindly to a bike. If you are flying and one is on the trail, you should be able to get by before they react, but, by any means, if you can stop welll ahead of one, do it and wait for them to leave. Just don't stop on top of em

Our non-poisonous snakes are no worry though. Just try not to hit em.

Freshly Fujified

3 types

A quick google search brings up three poisonous snakes indigenous to PA:

Eastern Massasauga Rattlesnake
    Northern Copperhead
    Timber Rattlesnake

This info comes from the PA fish and boat commission website.

Bob
    'If Wal-Mart sold parachutes, who would jump?' Frank Havnoonian (quoting his father) Drexel Hill Cyclery

mtbr member
    Liberty Sports Magazine had a small blurb in their current issue about several running clubs seeing Timber Rattlers in Wiss and VF.

mtbr member