Thread: Ride Nutrition

mtbr member
    Feb 2008

Ride Nutrition

So I went on a big ride today at Blue Marsh from lake rd to the State Hill rd boat launch and back, about 23 miles with some exploration, and totally bonked the last 5 miles. I started to feel nauseous, light headed blurred vision, and I lost all my endurance. I was sweating profusely as well, but it was 90 degrees also. I guess it could've been heat exhaustion too. I had 4 liters of water for the day and drank most of it. I was out for about 5 hours as well. I was originally going to just test a new set of tires (WTB Exiwolf 2.1s loved them) but ended up going for a lot longer.

All I had were 2 power bars and 4 liters of water. Obviously not enough fuel. So what works for you guys? What do you guys do to prevent cramps? Does pickle juice really work?

I ran low of electrolytes I got that part. Guys I'm a total newbie with XC mtn biking (3rd ride at BM) so things that seem obvious to you are not to me. I realize now how stupid a 23 mile ride is without proper nutrition so...

Any good guides? I thought about using some electrolyte supplements in my camelback but never went with any. Thoughts? What do you guys reccommend and what should I avoid? I felt afterwards that had I had enough fuel I could've done it just fine.

Sorry about all the noob questions, but thanks for the answers!

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    Cytomax and Gu get me through long rides on hot days. Try PBJ and flat soda for a cheaper alternative. I always stash a PBJ in my bag for emergency situations.

Pre-ride nutrition is just as important. Don't ride big if you didn't eat big the night before, and drink plenty of water before you hit the trails.

mtbr member
    eating a lot the day before a big ride is crucial. load up on carbs like rice and pasta. avoid greasy/fatty foods. fruits are good, eat lots of em.