mtbr member
    Nov 2009

Places to ride near Hershey

Hey all,

I was just looking to find some places to ride in or around the Hershey/Harrisburg area. I just moved out here from Pittsburgh. I've been lurking the forums for a little while and have found a few places mentioned, but was looking for some other suggestions/ other ideas. I have heard good things about Swatara and am looking forward to checking it out.

I am relatively new to mountain biking but have a bmx background from my younger days. So I'm always looking for a challenge.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

-Eric

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    Mt. Gretna off Pinch Road just north of the Lancaster/Lebanon County line isn't that far east of Hershey. Watch where you ride though - some of its Game Lands closed to riding while other trails on park property are hiker only.

A lot of what is open to mtbrs is good though. There's one trail ( I forget its #, that is really techy).

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    Mt. Gretna, and Camp Mack are both pretty close to Hershey.
    I would be happy to take you around either place. Trail #15 at Gretna is just plain crazy technical riding, but a lot of fun and no hunters. Camp Mack less technical, but Hunters on Saturdays.
    Both are great places to ride. Let me know. I usually ride Saturday and Sunday mornings

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    A-Ray, that would be great. I'm not sure about this weekend but maybe next. I'll get back to you when I see whats going on. Now I am just getting into this so I may not be ready for the super technical trails. haha (Hopefully I'll be ready eventually)

Thanks roxnroots for the reply. I'll have to check it out.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007