mtbr member
    May 2014

Philly bike shops

Hi All

I'm fairly new to Philadelphia and I am looking to start mountain biking. I was wondering: is there a bike shop in the area that caters to mountain bikers? or one that has a good demo policy? I'm happy to drive a bit if it gives me a chance to compare a few bikes.

Given my price range (~$800-1500, some flexibility) I'm looking to find a good entry level ht. I'm pretty much a noob on mountain bikes but I love technical single track on dirt bikes, so I'm guessing that is what I'll like most on a mountain bike.

Also, are there any shops that rent decent mountain bikes in the area?

Thanks!

MaverickMotoMedia.com
    I don't know of any bike shops that rent decent mountain bikes, there are some that rent crappy mtb's but I don't think they're worth mentioning.
    Several shops in the area cater to mountain bikes and have staff with considerable expertise, it all depends on the brands you're looking for.
    My favorite shops include:
    Wissahickon Cyclery. Great knowledge base and excellent service. Ed, the lead mech there, knows the trails at Wissahickon and Belmont, probably better than anyone. They carry Jamis & Trek iirc and are the home to local frame builder Engin.

Bell's Bike Shop. These guys have probably the best selection of parts in stock of anywhere in the city and great prices. The mechanics are pretty good, but only the owner rides mountain bikes, the rest of the staff don't know a whole lot. Their fitting services are top notch though. They carry Pivot, Colnago and Redline and 9:Zero:7 Fatbikes.

Community Bikes & Boards. Transition & Rocky Mountain bikes, cold PBR in the fridge in the basement. Community does a lot of support for Launch Bike Park.

Breakaway Bikes: Felt, Scott, Trek, & Fuji. The staff are pretty knowledgeable about mountain bikes and some of them are really fast riders. Don't be afraid of the tattoos and beards, they're actually pretty nice guys.