mtbr member
    Sep 2007

Opinions about Green Lane and Core Creek Park?

I am new to the Philly area and have ridden Penneypack, Wissahickon, and Mercer NJ. Thereíre all nice places to ride. Iím curious if Core Creek and Green Lane are worth the time and how they compare to Penneypack and Wissahickon? Any thoughts are appreciated.

out of shape
    core creek is a fun little ride, havent been anywhere else besides neshaminy high.
    doylestown pa
    SS cannondale F6

mtbr member
    May 2007
    I haven't been to Green Lane in over a year but here's one man's opinon.

Compared to Wissahickon, Green lane...
    • has less vertical
    • fewer rocks and fun stuff (but still enough to make an interesting ride)
    • fewer people breaking into your car
    • more horse crap (hard to believe but true)
    • fewer people
    • fewer trail options (especially on the blue trail which runs along the west side of the reservoir)
    • more speed (you can keep a good pace on trails on the northeast section - red trail I think)
    • more nature (turkeys, hawks, deer...)
    • equally disgusting water (I cringe when I see people swimming at both locations)

Park at the lot off of Knight Rd., about 1/4 mile west of Rt. 29. A couple of trails lead from this lot. Green lane is definitely worth riding, especially for a change of pace. But you're not likely to have any epic adventures.

Thumbs Up!
    I agree with AXP Ballpark. What type of riding do you like? I live very close to Green Lane and enjoy riding there. It is much smaller and offers less challenging terrain, but it is typicaly less crowded. I like riding the singlespeed at Green Lane, and if I am making the trip to Philly/Wiss I take the full squishy.
    "Everyone has a plan 'till they get punched in the mouth"
    Mike Tyson

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    Sounds like both parks are worth checking out.