mtbr member
    Apr 2008

Newb from S.Central PA

Hi Folks,

I have to say first off, this site has a ton of good information/reviews. I have the reviews to thank in particular for exhausting my income tax refund...

Anyway, I'm new to not only the forum, but mountain biking as well. I've owned a few cheap bikes over the years but I didn't/couldn't put them to much use. Always breaking or never quite shifting right.

So I bit the bullet this year and picked up a low-end Fisher to get me started. I've practically worn the tires to a pulp on local roads and am eagerly waiting to get on some trails. Not only have I always enjoyed biking but it's time for me to get in better shape (I belong in the Clydes forum BTW)

I'm waiting for a Yakima to get re-stocked at a local store, but until then I'm on the lookout for some beginner/XC trails. I'm located near Chambersburg, PA, and the first parks on my radar are Cowans gap, Caledonia, and maybe Pine Grove furnace.

I've biked a good 1/2 of the C&A canal when I was younger (not sure on the exact segments) but my endurance is no where near that anymore. One of my first purchases was a WTB Race seat, and I'm hoping it wears in soon (still hurts to ride).

Anyway, sorry for the winded post. Any reccomendations for the above sites, or any nearby for a beginner?

PS - Hub City Sports in Hagerstown, MD has a great sales staff (even though I could have saved a little from buying elsewhere)

Kindly,
    Jamie

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    'figured I may as well post a pic, although it's nothing special to most I'm sure.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    As long as you enjoy the bike then it is just fine. I've ridden a little of Pine Grove and there a lot of different types of trails to explore. Good luck and have fun. Bike looks great.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007