mtbr member
    Apr 2010

New from NEPA...

Some guys are nuts on here. Posting pics of their bike in the shower I wouldn't take my relationship with my mountain bike that far.

Any hoo just took my training wheels off so I'm new to the scene and looking for good and interesting places to ride that would give rookies like me a hard time. In and around the Wilkes-Barre, Scranton Area.

Also got a Go Pro camera that i will be making videos with.
    KHS XC-204

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Moon Lake Park is fun, lots of variety. Frances Slocum is cool, less miles and more uphills and downhills than Moon Lake. What I mean is Moon Lake has plenty of trails that are fairly flat, whereas Slocum is more you gotta go up to get down type riding.

You'll find lots on here about Mountaintop, Lackawanna State Park, 7 Tubs.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    I have been reading a bunch of threads of how fun Moon Lake is. I may consider riding there a couple times this summer. I heard that Kirby Park in W-B has a bike park somewhere in it but i can't seem to think of where it is at.

To start off i think i need more flat land. I can't breath at times going up hill. I'm too out of shape.

And you said places in Mountain Top? Where might they be?
    KHS XC-204

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    You can just ride the dike in Kirby. You can follow the levy system from Kmart in Edwardsville all the way up to Wyoming. There's a few dirt trails along the river, or you can stay on the paved dike.

Also, if you go to Luzerne the back mountain rail trial is there. Go up Perry St. I think, by Knights of Columbus, and you will find the trails. There's also one on Route 11, along the river, that goes for some ways.

I've only ridden mountain top once and actually don't remember how to get to where we rode.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010