Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member

New Guy from Lancaster Area

I been looking around on the forums awhile now and decided to finally say hi! My name is Matt from the Ephrata area. I'm totally brand new to mountain biking and just started this year. To keep it short I got bored one day and remembered someone had given my father a bike because he loves collecting them. What I found was an old probably from 90's Fuji 800sx hardtail. The bike was never ever used. So after "fine" tuning it I headed off into the mountains.

So far I've ridden: Gretna (5 times), Mt. Penn (2 times), and Camp Mack about twice but only the bottom half towards to Pumping Station. Sometimes I ride solo and Camp Mack for some reason scares me riding solo. I don't know if its the times I go usually around 2-7 or I'm parking in the wrong places but I rarely see other bikers.

I was hoping to maybe get some advice on trails from other locals. Of the trails I've ridden with such little experience I've enjoyed Mt. Penn the most. I'm eventually hoping to get better and ride more down hill type stuff (sorry I'm new if I use wrong terms please forgive me).

I'm also looking at buying a new bike. I'm really liking the Specialized Enduro or the Specialized Stumpjumper. What do you guys recommend for the trails around us?

Hope to see others out there, I'll be sure to wave as you guys zip on by me!

New Guy from Lancaster Area-camp-mack-06-20-2013.jpg
    06/20/2013 Camp Mack

Formerly PaintPeelinPbody
    Hi Matt,

Sounds like your getting out a fair amount. Hopefully that old Fuji doesn't hold you back. If you're a beginner, I'd really suggest looking at a 29er, and think about picking one up used. You might be able to get a used 29er locally for under $500 with front suspension, disc brakes, and a decent "kit" or even a mail order BikesDirect.com bike for $550 and shipping.

Trek Marlin 29er Like New

specialized hardrock 29er disc mountain bike