mtbr member
    May 2007

Memorial Day Weekend in the Poconos

Hi, I'm new on these boards (first post) and new to mountain biking. I've gone once in my life about 10 years ago at Killington and have been riding a road bike for the past 3 years, which makes me pretty much a complete newbie... I just bought a new Iron Horse Warrior Trail DS mtn bike and am excited to use it.

I'm going to be spending memorial day weekend in the poconos and saw some stuff about mountain biking in Jim Thorpe, I see that it is supposed to be very scenic and easy stuff... I'll be going with other ppl who would be renting bikes and complete novices as well. My question is, is it worth it or am I better of going elsewhere? I enjoy great scenery btw... and if it is, which trail should I choose?

-Ray

Uphill hater

Switchback

Ray, get ready for loads of thoughts on this and all will be very good advice. Lath will hopefully chime in and provide the expert advice but I can tell you that riding up the switchback to the top give you a great scenic view and it's easy enough. It's such a nice ride that you really don't realize you're pedaling up a hill. Have fun and enjoy the weekend.
    Why did Kamikaze pilots wear helmets?

My blog

mtbr member
    May 2007
    thanks for the advice gunner, so the switchback trail is even more scenic than lehigh gorge? or is it just be better overall of the 2 trails in your opinion?

mtbr member
    May 2007