mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Manayunk resident and noobish rider in search of noob trails

Hey Guys,

I'm new to mountain biking but not entirely new to bikes. I was a pretty good BMX racer when I was a youngin (28 now) so have some decent MTBing skills like bunny hopping pretty high, wheeling a few rotations (not manual-ing yet ), not afraid to get some air, and overall decent awareness and instinct on a bike. Other than that I am a complete noob and am looking to start honing my skills on some basic stuff.

I live on Main Street in Manayunk. I would really prefer to be able to ride to trails as opposed to drive. I've headed over to the Wiss and entered at the Main Street/Ridge Pike entrance and explored but didn't have much luck. Everything I found within a couple miles was severely ahead of my current skill level. Is there anything near my side of the Wiss that is along the lines of what I'm looking for? My girlfriend is also taking this up with me at least part of the time, and although very athletic, she is considerably more noob than I. So we definitely need something alot easier than I have seen there

If not, what are my other options. I hear Belmont is more novice, would I be best served just riding up there and exploring those trails?

Thank you guys in advance for any insight. Also although this is my first post I used this forum quite a bit to gather a lot of information with regard to making my first MTB purchase and getting gear and such. So thank you to everyone for contributing!

mtbr member
    I'd think the wiss would be better for a beginner than Belmont. you might need to walk down or up some of the hills at the wiss but there is allot of smooth single track in between. Belmont may not have the hills of the wiss but it has a log over about every twenty feet.
    Ask me about Evansburg State Park
    Trail days. 3rd Sunday
    of the month.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    Thanks for the response. I got the impression it was easier because of this: