mtbr member
    May 2007

How does PA rank with the rest of the states?

I've been riding for 4 years. I've ridden most of the easter PA trails, as well as DE and Fair Hills in MD. I wonder how these trails rate in terms of technicality and just plane awesomeness when compared to what the rest of America has. What is the identity of PA trails?
    I can't imagine having any more fun then I do at Wissi or Fair Hills or anywhere in Jim Thorpe. This may be a stupid question, but I don't know many riders who have ridden past their backyard. I am a new dad and my time to just go on a bike trek across the states is unlikely. I am a pretty compitent rider and get through French Creek and Wiss pretty easily. I wonder how well I would fair on a different states trail.

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    I've ridden all across the country,Pa has some of the most diverse and challenging terrain in the states.

mtbr member
    Come up to NEPA and ride Merli, Prompton, Lackawanna State Park, Moosic Mountain and Hubbard and then you can say that you rode, not some of the best, but some of the most elite and diverse trails you'll find anywhere.
    On a scale of 1-10 (1 easiest)
    LSP- 4. Smooth with some roots and can be muddy after a good rain. Not tech, but long with some climbs and really nice decents. You'll need to ride with someone who frequents the park to ride it all. 25 miles approx
    Prompton- 6. This is the ultimate mix of terrain. Smooth, rocky, long gentle climbs long and fast DH, steep climbs, steep decents, tech sections, Pines, hardwoods. It's basically everything we have to offer. One thing that makes Prompton hard is the distance. You're not going to be short of 12 miles at the very least. 16 is more practical and there's prolly around 25 all together.