Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Dec 2011

best trails near Williamsport PA?

I am a travel nurse and just accepted an assignment in Williamsport PA starting April 28th that will last for 13 weeks. I live in Asheville NC so I have great access to some world class trails right near home. It seems that PA has some great riding to offer as well but I am having a difficult time finding where these trails are located. What are some good trails or trail systems in/near Williamsport? I dont mind driving but would love to hear about a few that are within a 30min drive to keep it relatively local. Mostly looking for cross country riding but wouldnt be opposed to some good downhill if it were available.

Also does anyone know any other things to do in the area? Rock climbing, Fly fishing, Whitewater canoing, etc. Really, Im down for anything outdoors. I have a 4x4 truck so can access a fair amount.

Thanks for any help/advice in advance and Im really looking forward to coming up and checking out your beautiful state. If anyone is in the area and is looking for someone to ride with please feel free to let me know

Cody

I'm really not familiar with the smaller local trail systems around Williamsport like 'The Water Company,' but the closet big time trail system is going to be Bald Eagle State Forest (with spillover into lower Tiadaghton State Forest.) Go to purplelizard.com and order the Bald Eagle map for $12. It's worth it. It's a huge tract of land and some of the areas are very isolated, so the trails will run the gamut in terms of how well they're maintained. For me, coming from Danville, I access Bald Eagle from a parking lot immediately off Exit 199 (Mile Run) of I-80, but coming from Williamsport, there may be a better way.

Canoing: Pine Creek - Rt 6 (or even further up) down to Jersey Shore, PA

Other info:
    Bald Eagle Parking
    Bald Eagle Trails (if you don't spring for Purple Lizard)
    Danville Trails Parking
    Danville Trails