mtbr member
    Aug 2007

Beginner Trails in Philly

I am new to mountain biking. I recently bought a K2 Zed 3.0 and love it. I have been riding the Forbidden Drive at the Wiss. to build endurance and get used to my bike, but I am interested in heading out into real trails. I was wondering where would be a good place to start. I know the Wiss can have some tough trails so I want to find something a little easier so I can transition into harder ones.

Any advice on where I should start?

PMBA Beer Guy
    Most of the IMBA Demo trail (in the Wiss) off of Wises Mill Road is pretty flat and not rocky.

I would also suggest Penny Pack park, which is great for beginners.

If you can make it out to Mercer County Park in NJ, that is great too. Flat, but still has it's challenges and is really fun.
    Board Member Philadelphia Mountain Biking Association (http://www.phillymtb.com)

Skier by trade
    Aug 2006
    The back part of Betzwood in Valley Forge is also good too.
    Click. Point. Chute.

PMBA Beer Guy
    be careful about Valley Forge because I think a lot of the trail are illegal now. Read this......(from www.phillymtb.com)

I received a package from the NPS regarding the final proposed General Management Plan for Valley Forge National Park, and the outcome is not good. Worse than not good. Basically, the summary is that off-trail use of bicycles is not recognized as a legitimate activity for the park in any way, shape, or form. There are no plans or allowance for off-trail biking whatsoever. The vast majority of public comments seemed to be in favor of off-trail bicycle use, but one apparently very vocal and influential group, the National Parks Conservation Association (NPCA), took the position of the local park management that it should not be allowed based on “environmental impact”, although no study was ever undertaken. The vast majority of their arguments are completely invalid, but that did not seem to matter in the final analysis.