retired
    Dec 2009

ANYTHING worth noting near Bucks County?

I am progressing in interviewing in various places and for this job would likely live in Bucks County. However, is there any MTBing even close and/or driving distance? Google suggests its a pretty crap area for biking which would be a huge bummer but please let me know if i am missing something obvious

thanks in advance

Ride da mOOn Moderator

Good job!

Google "Philadelphia Mt bike club"

Great guys!

dsx
    mtbr member
    Dec 2009
    I'm fairly new to MTB'ing but have lived in Bucks all my life... I haven't found many spots locally to ride, aside from at Neshaminy Highschool, aka Idlewood (which as far as I'm concerned is awesome and has alot to offer ... both XC and Downhill type trails). There are some relatively flat, but fun trails at Core Creek park, as well. Venturing into NJ gives you some more options, however, with Mercer and Ballpate parks.

If anyone knows any other places in and around bucks, I've love to hear them as well.

-DSx

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    To put it simply, you're going to have to drive for the spots with real elevation and what not. Depending on where you are in the county, you should have the weekday escape sort of places within no too far of a distance. With some driving (1/2-2 hours) you should be able to find a good bunch of trails. Blue mountain isn't too far for lift serviced riding.

Pennypack is a place where you can get your tires on dirt. Nockamixon State park I remember hearing mention at the Raystown meeting that there was progress being made there. Trails are in planning stages still it appears. The northern end of the county would really put you in reach of the elevation available in the northern end of the state.

I remember Deleware has a couple of places people like. You could always hop on the D & L trail and ride your bike up it's 160 mile length and explore the single track off shoots of it.

trail addict
    Quote Originally Posted by dsx