likes bicycles

Any technical riding in PGH?

I started riding a lot in South Park last summer. I took the bike up to school with me in Albany, NY and fell in love with the technical singletrack up here.

I'm about to head home for the summer, and I'm wondering where I can find some techy riding without driving to Laurel Mountain/Seven Springs. Is there a technical utopia closer to home?

Thanks in advance!

my fun has a hurting
    frick park has a few fairly tech sections, lots of roots. hartwood acres is good as well. a bit further out roaring run in apollo is full of technical goodness of rocks and roots. and to the north is moraine state park.

we ride 3-4 times a week out of the southside. if you would like to join us check out http://dorc-pgh.com

mtbr member
    boyce park is fun, most of the trails are kinda easy but there are a good number of logs/log piles, and some steep short downhills. apollo is real good, duff park in murrysville is also good.

mtbr member
    Whats a duff park?
    2007'ish Heckler and 2006 Chameleon
    If anyone needs the help of a prototype/custom machinist let me know.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by keith13
    Whats a duff park?
    no its not the same duff park as in the Simpsons cartoon.

Duff Park is located just off Rt 22 in Murrysville. I believe you turn onto School Road, there is a parking lot just ahead. Its a small park but fun if your in the area. Some nice steep climbs, lots or roots, off camber stuff, mostly singletrack.

likes bicycles
    Sweet. Thanks for the replies. I guess I just need to stop being lazy and drive out to some places other than SP.

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by vitale232
    Sweet. Thanks for the replies. I guess I just need to stop being lazy and drive out to some places other than SP.
    I know how you feel; I get spoiled having Frick Park in our back yard. That section of the city is the best for a great urban/off road ride combo.

mtbr member