mtbr member
    Aug 2006

Any regular groups ride in wissahickon?

Hi y'all,

I'm new to the philly area and I'm looking for people to ride with- I live in center city and ride belmont a couple of days a week and occasionally wissahickon. I'd like to get out to wiss. more, but I always get a little lost/confused in the park, and the ride out and back gets a little boring after a while. If anyone rides with a regular group in wissahickon, I'd love to tag along. I'm not a great rider, just getting back into it after taking 4 years in college off (didn't live in a terribly bike-friendly place, and had too many skis and too much climbing gear already), but I am in good shape and am recovering long-lost technical skills pretty quickly. drop me a line in this thread or via pm if you'd be interested in riding wiss. (or elsewhere, for that matter). Thanks!

g

mtbr member
    Hey Glytch,

Welcome to Philly! Myself and Electric Mustard also live in Center City, and tend to ride either Belmont or Wissahickon given their proximity. Wissahickon is fairly straight forward, so once you have ridden it a couple of times, you will be fine.

I'm not sure what our plans are for this weekend, but if we do ride, you are more than welome to come along. I can let you know here or via PM. Do you have a preferred time to ride?

Cheers,

David

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    David,

Thanks for replying! generally I like to ride mid-morning fri and/or sat (I also rock climb, so some days I'm off climbing), as well as a couple of weekday afternoons when possible. I'm hoping to ride this sunday sometime in the afternoon for 2 or 3 hours (plans late sat night will prob. prevent an earlier ride). It'd be awesome to tag along with you guys if that's a time you were thinking of riding. Thanks, and please let me know... here is fine, or by pm.

g

mtbr member
    Nov 2006