Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Working in the industry affect passion?

Question for those who currently work in the bike industry. Does your day job affect your passion?

I'm considering a position with a cycling company. My concern is that in the past cycling has been my hobby, my go-to stress reliever, and something to enjoy with my family. Would working full-time change this in any way? I'm very passionate about bikes, and I love my line of work, so I could see this being a great opportunity to mix the two. At the same time, there is a bit of hesitation in combining them...

What do you think?

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    I've been doing it for the last 25 years. No problem for me.

I'd rather be riding
    My short time in the industry (bike shop 1.5years) increased my passion to ride but seriously squashed my time to ride. It's hard to pull a 10hr retail day and then have the urge to go ride, or to have to work on weekends and consistently miss races.

MaverickMotoMedia.com
    I can't speak for the bicycle industry, but I've worked in the motorcycle industry since 2006, coaching & instructing riders at track days & doing branding, marketing & PR for a number of pro roadracing teams & small motorcycle accessory & apparel companies. I haven't ridden a motorcycle in almost a year. Frankly, I'm not in a hurry to, I get a bigger kick riding my mountain bikes. I sold my race bike last june and all of my moto friends keep bugging me about when I'm going to replace it. Frankly, I'd rather buy a nice, FSR 29er. Some day, I'll build another track bike, but my days of coaching 35+ track days are done for now. I'd rather go as a customer. I still have fun working the AMA Pro events, if only to see the friends that I've made in the paddock, but I really don't care if ride any time soon. I'm a bit burned out.