Thread: What's next?

mtbr member

What's next?

Looking for what's next... for me?

I have been riding since 1990... some road but mostly MTB. I started with a steel fully rigid trek and have run the gamut from there to front susp, to full susp, back to hardtail, to now singlespeed. Currently riding a steel frame On One Summer Season, steel frame, set up for single speed, with a Fox Float 140 on front.

In a bit of the doldrums riding wise and just wondering if you had opinions on what might get me going strong again. I have a few options, I think:
    • 26" full sus
    • 29" hardtail
    • custom or semi custom Ti frame
    • 2x10 gearing
    • 1x10 gearing
    • 29" full susp

There may be others...

Or am I just being silly? I ride regularly. Mostly tight singletrack, with travels to fast and swoopy "imba style" flow, along with the every now and then "big ride". I am a basic trail rider, not a racer, not fast, don't catch big air, enjoy being in the woods and have fun on fun trails. I have moved past enjoying the "death ride" and don't mind that I sometimes choose to walk a section that earlier in my biking life I would have challenged and crashed and hurt...

So what say you? Stop my search and ride, get the latest and greatest (can you define that?) or perhaps search for an upgrade for my current super tough steel steed?

Ramble ramble....
    On One Summer Season Single Speed

mtbr member
    Nov 2012

What's next?

Find some new trail? Bike cant define the fun like the guy on the bike can. Or somethin like that.

please, just ride
    Throw some drop bars on your bike.
    I picked up a Salsa Fargo recently and plan on doing some bikepacking with it, but it has been a blast for just railing my familiar local trails on. Totally different style and approach compared to my full suss and it keeps things interesting.