Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2010

New question here. What is "Epic" to you?

We had this question posted on another, much smaller, MTB related board I frequent and thought it garnered some interesting perspective so I figured I'd throw out the question here....

I know I probably over-use the term and frequently say "that trail" or "that ride" was epic. When I say it, I'm more or less implying to anybody willing to listen that the trail is a "must do" when you're in the area.

What say you?

beater

What is "Epic" to you?

Something that creates a lifelong memory, big enough that you talk about it later. Preferably a positive one.
    "Back off, man. I'm a scientist." - Dr. Peter Venkman

Riding in Helena? Everything you need to know, right here.

mtbr member
    Epic is a word I'll use at most once every few years. For a ride to be epic it would have to require a bit of planning and training and self-doubt - if you know at the start that you can finish a ride, it's not epic.

Someone once told me a ride was "long" if you start to doubt you'll be able to finish right around the point of no return (that is the point where it's just as much work to finish the ride as it would be to turn around). That definition mostly works for me.

Off the back...
    The connotation of "epic" has changed over the years. It used to mean "a very long ride with consequences and potentially an overnight stay in the woods if your map-reading skills aren't that good". 8+ hours on the trail, some hike-a-bike and some bushwhacking were good signs you were on an EPIC RIDE.

In the last few years, the meaning has morphed into "a long ride, likely tedious", where upon completion you will be quietly thankful that it's over and never contemplate riding it again.

Log off and go ride!
    Jul 2003
    If I liked it it is an Epic.
    If I thought it was meh, it is not epic.

Anyone else's opinion is wrong.
    So many trails... so little time...

mtbr member
    Feb 2006