Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member

Walking back to the car passion

Well....after over 20 years riding, I finally had a walk out. ~5 miles. Ouch. The light/fast mentality I used didn't work out so well. Cut a tire with only a single CO2 and my sealant just wouldn't hold it - normally I have a tube/CO2/extra sealant etc. Had to shed the shoes and walk barefoot. Never again. But to be honest, it was a nice day and it was peaceful...helped me work out some stuff that I had going on that week.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

PRETENDURO
    I ride to/from my actual rides (trailheads) between 6 - 10 miles. I do this for about 95% of my rides. What sucks worse than having to walk back to the car is having to walk 10 miles back home. Iíve learned to carry unnecessary amounts of spares with me (packmule style) on my rides. I am under the impression that this extra weight adds to the intensity of my workout (and henceforth, adding to my overall strength/endurance workout) but no government-funded research follows my logic.
    QUOTE from MTBR.COM: You have given Brewtality too much Reputation in the last 24 hours, try again later.

100.oz minimum
    Mar 2013
    First walkout in over 20 years! You're pretty lucky. I too, have been riding over 20 years & have had numerous walkouts. Everything from breaking my frame, rear derailler ending up in my rear spokes with a broken derailler hangar, a crank brothers mini pump that didn't work worth a crap, crankarm coming loose & a few more i can't remember. Once in twenty years ain't bad, lol.
    -always thinking about the next ride-

mtbr member
    Sorry to hear, but can't seem to figure out why you needed to walk barefoot???

SPP
    Rigid.

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    Experience is the cruelest teacher of all.

pin it