Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    otbmbc.com
    Dec 2004

Solo or Group Riding

I recently started riding with a group - MTB club, that is. Its great. Nothing like riding in a pack. The feeling you get when your in your element with your own kind is almost unexplainable.

But this weekend, there are no group rides scheduled in my area. I am actually looking forward to riding solo this weekend. I don't know if its because its at my own pace or the exploration factor - I can stop and smell the sulfur if I want to.

So, what do you think? How do you like it?

Group or Solo?

mtbr member

It depends...

on how big the group is I guess. If it is any more than three people then I rather ride alone.

bob
    mtbr member

What okkra said

I ride solo most of the time just because it's convenient and I enjoy being alone. Maybe it's a reflection of growing up as an only child? I have four other friends who I also enjoy riding with because we all ride the same stuff, are in about the same condition, and all have a great sense of humor. There's a ton of heckling on those rides.

But, as far as riding with a large group or club.......no way. People always show up late to the trail head, have to talk for a 1/2 hour before the ride starts, and the ride is always stopping and starting. It's just not for me.

My pants are smart.
    Jun 2004