mtbr member
    Feb 2004

So I'm at a real snoozer of a conference

for work. I'm a grant writer/research administrator for a healthcare system by day so the folks at these conferences are not, typically, a real hoot (although they can and will kick your ass at Scrabble). I get irritated at these things because the undertone goes something like this, "Look at me, I'm smart."
    "Oh, you may be smart but I am the smartest of all."
    "Isn't it just great that we are all so smart? Someone should give us a medal."
    "I have a medal, it says I'm the smarty-smart-smart-smartest."
    "Wow, cool".

Anywho, I'm at the obligatory working lunch eating the dry chicken and making the small talk. I strike up a conversation with a 60-something V.P. of blah-ditty-blah from a New Jersey health system. He was a very charming guy. After lunch we had some time before the next mind-numbing session so I said I'm going to "stretch my legs". He asks if I would like some company, "sure" I say and off-we-go.

About halfway around the block he spots a North Face store and asks if I would'nt mind going in to look around. I agree and as we walk in I say, "So, are you a skier?" (I kick ass at small talk) He says, "Yes, but I really like to bike."
    "Reeaallly, me too. I used to be a road biker, but now I mostly mt. bike."
    "Me too" the seasoned old executive spouts back.
    I figured he meant anything with a knobby tire was a mt bike, but then he proceeded to lay down terms like singletrack, switchback, drop-in, freeride and babyheads. He also talked about his yearly trips to Moab and/or Fruita.

The moral of the story is don't judge a book - or a 60-something V.P of blah-ditty-blah - by its cover.

i worship Mr T

Lol!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by ISUPsyclones