ivy
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Road Rash Care Guide - How to Treat and Prevent Scars

Hi
    You may have read my post a week or so ago about the fear of getting back on my bike. Your responses were incredibly helpful and wise. I'm new to the sport of mountain biking and recently took a nasty spill in Tahoe. I broke my jaw and arm. In any case, I said I'd put together a road rash guide for anyone interested. I'm guessing most of you guys are perfectly happy with scars and see them as a badge of honor. I just didn't happen to want the badges of honor on my face.

I spoke with a dermatologist who is also an avid cyclist who helped me tremendously in understanding how best treat the rash and prevent scarring.If you have additional knowledge, let me know and I'll edit this guide. Mod - if this is the wrong place for this, feel free to yank.
    Ivy

--------------------------------

Road Rash Care Guide Ė minimize scars and be less ugly

Road rash is a fairly inevitable part of biking. Some day, some how, you will likely come off your bike. If youíre reading this, youíve had road rash, currently have it or youíre going to have it. Road rash is something like going to the spa and getting a deep exfoliating treatmentÖfor free! Actually itís not like that at all. It hurts, it bleeds, it weeps, and, depending on how you take care of it, it SCARS!

So, letís minimize that scarring with some knowledge:

Degrees of Road Rash

Like burns and murder, road rash has different degrees:

First: Probably looks like a really bad sunburn. The surface of the skin is red, but not bleeding. The skin is not broken. Treatment isnít really required here, though youíll want to clean it just to be safe.

Second: Skin is broken and bleeding. People flinch when they look at you. However, the deep layer of skin is intact. How do you know if the deep layer is there? See below. This guide is for second degree road rash.