Thread: Raleigh Brand

mtbr member
    Mar 2014

Raleigh Brand

Hi!

I am looking at buying a new mountain bike and am really leaning towards the Raleigh Eva 7.5 27.5, but don't know much about Raleigh except for a cheap/negative image. The shop tech informed me that Raleigh has really upped their game over the last couple of years. Is this true?

Please HELP!

Thank you!
    Krenee

mtbr member
    Raleigh is a decent bike. Owned I believe by Accel who also owns several other brands.
    In looking for a bike for my oldest daughter, the Eva looked like it's very similar in specs to others in its price range. Giant Tempt and the specialized Myka were the others we looked at.
    Not sure if this helps or not...

mtbr member
    Mar 2014
    It does...I am pretty rough on my bikes and need something that will be tollarable to my riding adventures. I've been riding a used Specialized Rockhopper 26'' for over 6 years, taking a 3 year or so hiatus in between. I want to move up to a 27.5 but really don't want to spend more than $1200 on a hardtail.

I'll look into those other bikes.

Thank you!

BBB STYLEE
    my ex g/f had that an Eva in a 26. Aside from her being stubborn and hard headed, I liked the bike she had! 6:

She is very fast in the trails and that Raleigh was plenty good for her abilities! I'd recommend that bike if you're a novice/intermediate rider looking for a hardtail!
    Im referred to as a BBBM. Big Beautiful Beard Man.

mtbr member
    May 2014
    Just joined the forum - Let me know if I should just create a separate post, but I wonder if you got the Eva and what you thought of its quality, Krenee? I'm thinking of the Tokul 1 now, haven't been biking for years, but I like the $600 price point and it has the things I *think* I'm looking for...
    Raleigh Bicycles - Tokul 1

namely: front suspension, disc brakes, 27.5", and non-SRAM shifters. The 120mm travel is a plus, dunno if it has lockout tho (a plus but not a must).