Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Ride it like you stole it
    Apr 2004

Passion lost for SRAM

Yesterday I bought a new SRAM chain. Considering I have a SRAM cassette, me being the wise guy I am I figured a SRAM chain would be the most compatiable chain to buy. Althought I had been using a Shimano XT without any problems. WRONG. The new SRAM chain I bought is not compatible with the 2004 or older SRAM cassette.

This seems ludicrous to me, not to mention there tech. specs do not mention this. After repeated trys to get it to work, I went to the MTBR equipment reviews and found that I was not the only one having this problem. So now I am back to a Shimano chain, anyone need a new SRAM chain? See the post below from the equipment post.

"Overall, it's been a great cassette. I've been beating the crap out of it for 6 months and haven't managed to bend, chip, or in any other way screw up any of the cogs (which is reasonably notable for me...). It's a bit heavy, but I'm over that. Now, here's the interesting part. The 2004 version of this, despite what is advertised, is only compatible with Shimano chains. I had to replace the OEM chain, so I put on a Sram chain (it's a Sram cassette, so it'd seem logical, right?) only to have all sorts of shifting problems and ridiculous amounts of noise. I did some investigating and finally found Sram's dealer technical publications, which listed chain compatibility as being only Shimano for this cassette (it used to be on Sram's website, but the link now leads to the 2005 technical publications). So, I put a Shimano HG-93 chain on it, and it's been great ever since. According to the 2005 technical publications, the compatibility is now Sram, but if you find a 2004 version, beware of that.

Overall, I am pretty satisfied with this cassette, but I am going to knock a point off for the compatibility thing and the weight. If you need a cassette on the cheap, however, consider this.

"Ride Lots" - Eddie Mercx

while that may be true