Thread: old school fun

mtbr member

old school fun

The front hub bearings on my 29er are pretty much shot and LBS doesn't carry the bearings I need, so I took my old bike that I've been gradually modernizing via trade for the last few months. Its' a rigid 26" bike that I got for my 16th birthday - probably a bit small for me at this point but I've been riding it for almost 16 years now so it always just feels "right". It feels even better now that I've turned it from a 3x7 gearing to 1x9, and put on some slightly wider bars than it came from the factory with. It felt a lot like I was back in the old days - flat BMX pedals, skate shoes, etc... I was a bit concerned about riding with tubes after a year without (I am kinda heavy and pinchflat a lot) but didn't get any flats.

Ended up riding about 18 miles yesterday on it, and felt better and faster than I have in years. It was like I was 16 all over again - doing all kinds of stupid things, riding across logs I have no business on, etc... Hoping I can work my old ride into the rotation more often, because it felt so good - the youthful energy has carried over into today even. Just hope the guys I ride with can handle it - they credit the increased speed to having gears (I normally ride a singlespeed) but I know better.
    Yeah I only carry cans cause I'm a weight weenie.

mtbr member
    Right on man! glad you had fun!

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Awesome! About 18 months back I turned my 91 Trek into a ss after collecting dust for 4 years. Best 30 bucks I spent for mt biking stuff.

Rogue Exterminator
    Sweet, I have an '89 Giant Iguana I am tuning up to screw around with.
    Got me itching to get back to it

balance_fit
    Jul 2010
    Quite interesting to see this thread, just after writing a related reply. The classic, old school feeling never dies. In fact, one can go trough all kinds of techie experiences and come back full circle to the essential thing, that is, simply riding.
    Be well !