mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Official Poision Ivy remedy thread

ok, look.... i love building trails , as i'm sure most of us do , but when it is 300 degrees out and 95% humidity pants are the last thing on my mind. as we speak, i have the worst poison ivy i've seen.

i know i'm not the only one riding who runs into this ( i'm sure its a lil diff. depending where you are, my local trails are paved in ivy)

so..

how about a few remedys?

so far i've been using alcohol and benadryl itch lotion.

god this suck...........
    i used to be a hot tar roofer, ya i remember that......day.

mtbr member
    This sounds a little extreme, but I've had some really bad cases of ivy/oak. Stuff that lasted for weeks. I found that for worst cases it's best if I take a bath in diluted bleach. While in the tub, I sometimes scrub the rash with an abrasive sponge to bust open the blisters. The bleach helps to dry out your bodies reaction to the urishiol oil.

I might try some tamer methods at first to see if they work for you. But if it is really bad, give this a shot. Good luck.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    I feel for ya Gilly... I just got my first case ever and mine was bad enough I had to go get steriods at Urgent Care. Its been over 6 weeks and I am just now getting clear of it. Miserable.

The one thing that helped with the itching wa a remedy I read in a thread here on MTBR. SUPER SCOLDING HOT SHOWER. It itches, hurts like a mother when under the water but I could get out of the shower and not itch all day without taking anything extra....
    Soil Taste Tester

Rides with Scissors
    I've heard of people having good luck using "Zanfel". Though if you have health insurance, it's probably cheaper to get a steroid shot at the Dr.

My PI issues went way down once I started carrying wet-wipes (with alcohol in the mix, not the "gentle" version) and wiping myself down immediately after a ride and I'm one of those folks who seems to get PI just by looking at it.