Thread: New bike build

mtbr member
    Mar 2005

New bike build

I'm kind of new to this so bare with me. I thought I'd put pics up of my new build since the bike will never be this clean again. It actually exceeded my expectaions. I ordered the frame from John Castellano. I was unsure if I wanted to go with a 15" or a 16.5" but the 16.5" seems to be just fine. Frame is not only a peice of art but it performs as well as it looks. I got the WB 1.0 air 100 mm of travel It's so sweet. The Deus Cranks are crazy stiff and not as hard to install as what I intially thought. The adustable chainline was helpful too. The martas I had to cut the rear line that was no problem, but during bleeding I don't think I quite got it bleed properly, I saw some other tips that I think will work. Once the rear is bleed properly I expect it to work as good as the front is now. I laced 317's to american classic hubs and I'm pleased with them. Got a sweet deal on the rims at Universal cycles along with the rest of my build kit. I used their online bike builder and I can't say enough about my whole experience with Universal. Other Components: sram .7 trigger shifters with .9 deraileur (they rock). Easton Carbon .75 rise monkeylite. Thomson post, wtb rocket team saddle, shimano xt front derail, chain, and cassette. I went with Race face evolve stem, and deus headset. I wanted another king so bad like my hardtail but decided to go with the RF Deus mainly due to $. Tires I also got from John Castellano he helped design them and offered me a deal I couldn't pass up. He is a great guy. Kegel's bike shop got my headset pressed in a jiffy and as always did a great job. I also through in a Pic of my first MTB a 96 ground control. Original equip came with rst fork, canti brakes. I just sold it last year it broke my heart. It's weight was around 31 pounds the fango is about 24.5 lbs. (Side note I had to shrink the pics to 640 by 480 and lost some quality). Well thanks for thanks for reading my thread.