mtbr member

Need Bike shop owners help (x post)

A friend and I are considring opening a bike shop. I have some questions for the owners or people directly involved in the business aspect of this. These questions involve location, type of business you do most, types of bikes you carry, types you sell most of. I also have some financial questions. If you are an owner or manager and are willing to help me please post here and I will PM or E-mail you some questions. All Questions and Answers will be kept private between you, me, and my potential partner. Not to worry, he wont be talking to people about it either.
    I have a Marketing degree, he has a Management degree, and will be getting his MBA in May. The questions we have may contain some advertising and related questions as well. We are trying to see if this will work in our area. Thanks you for your help, and if you know of another place to find info, please feel free to post it up.

Thank you

Matt

Just Give'r!
    matt, i'm not an owner or manager, just a lowly salesperson but i'd be happy to answer what i can about the non-financial kinda stuff (bikes we carry, typical customers, advertising, busy times, highest mark-ups on products, etc.) so feel free to drop me a line if it would be helpful.

Full Tilt Boogie
    May 2005
    There's really quite a bit to answer in an email. I'd be happy to talk about some of those things with you. Give me a call
    I sell bikes here. Check out the Blog here. Facebook.

mtbr member
    Thanks for the quick responses. I was talking to my friend, and I think what we are going to do is sit down and creat a survey, if you will, so that we dont forget things.. It will have all the questions we can think of. we will then send it to people that are willing to discuss, and you can just email it back filled out. we will be working on this over the weekend.