Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2004

richeyr
    May 2004
    It is a new trend. I am a PE teacher in the city of Indianapolis and I have noticed students riding bike with no brakes. Yes, it is very stupid riding a bike without brakes. To the students it's a cool factor, a rush of sorts. I am glad this problem is getting some publicity. Thanks for sharing.
    Live Life or Watch it go by. I'd rather be living it!

paintbucket
    That Michael Allocca, bike racer, is one smart cookie.....
    When the going gets weird its bedtime.

Freshly Fujified

Justification

From one of the young geniuses:

"We just take the brakes off because it is easier to ride and stuff. Like, I don't know, it is better because sometimes the brakes get in the way," says Michael Allocca, bike racer.

"Do you think it is dangerous?" asks Leigh.

"Yeah, but it is fun, like I don't know. It is better not to have brakes then to have brakes, I don't know," says Michael Allocca, bike racer.

My personal thoughts-"Like, ya know, I DO know-it's f$*&ng assinine, ya know?.

Bob
    'If Wal-Mart sold parachutes, who would jump?' Frank Havnoonian (quoting his father) Drexel Hill Cyclery

mtbr member
    Hey this has been going on forever, it's called natural selection.

Shreddin the Cul de Sac
    I could have sworn that the Raleigh Rampar BMX race bike I had as a kid came from the bike shop with rear brakes only.
    keep moving

Foreign Entity
    Quite a few kids bikes come without front brakes, but they have both cantilever/v-brakes/caliper brakes and coaster brakes on the back wheel.

Reading the whole article, the cop is a little misinformed too, but the kids removing brakes are just begging for something bad to happen. I certainly don't see how brakes get in the way or how removing them makes the bike faster (other than weight losses which I can't see these kids being concerned about).

Pedal Damnit

good

more air for the rest of us. Darwinism works
    Lost in Texaslation

jrm