Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member

How many miles do you ride in a year???

I'm a noob (but 47) and starting mountain biking in mid-August of this year. I'm curious to know how far others ride in a year. I have no frame of reference...

I bought my Spez 120 Pro in August and have about 1,500 miles on it (4 months) and except for replacing the front wheel (taco city), tires (front 1X and rear 2X), crank, seat, chain, bar grips, front "D", rear "D" hanger, and seat post, it's all still original .

How far do you ride in a year?

mtbr member
    Mar 2004

My goal is

between 10-12,000 for '06.

I started riding in 2004. '05 was wasted after April due to a broken leg. So I got some catching up to do.

Most of it will be on the road because it simply is a more efficient way to get stronger. However, I still need to develop my mtb skills (besides, mtb takes me to more remote places). I'm shooting for about 70-75% road and 25-30% mtb.

There are some very good books out there on the average amount of miles a rider needs in order to meet their specific goals.

And, of course, keep it fun.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by XRAYO
    I'm a noob (but 47) and starting mountain biking in mid-August of this year. I'm curious to know how far others ride in a year. I have no frame of reference...

I bought my Spez 120 Pro in August and have about 1,500 miles on it (4 months) and except for replacing the front wheel (taco city), tires (front 1X and rear 2X), crank, seat, chain, bar grips, front "D", rear "D" hanger, and seat post, it's all still original .

holy crap. if you're averaging 5000 miles in a year on a mountain bike, what percentage of your riding is actually on dirt as opposed to road riding? i ask because over the summer i was riding almost every day and i'd be surprised if i cracked 1000 miles. mountain biking only on trail loops of 6-10 miles doesn't add up very quickly...

Mythical Creature

Three words:

NEW BIKE CRACK!