mtbr member

How long is your...

How long is your history with mountain biking? I was just sitting here reading the thread about the riding addict and realized I have been mountain biking for over 15 years.

I started out following my friends on my Huffy Stalker, they were all on Treks. I got my first real mountain bike 15 years ago in september, a Cannondale M300

I have only had one other passion that long, I have been skiing longer then I have been riding, and recently I picked up surfing, but other then those two no other activity has stuck.

You could say I am addicted to mountain biking, but I'll never admit it, because accepting your problem is the first step in getting rid of it and I never want to stop riding.

I feel old, At 26 it's weird to have things that have I have been doing that long.

Life is Good
    About 9-10 years for me. I started on a blue Trailmaster

You're going to get alot of old timers in this thread I am a relative newbie, I guess. I started on that Trailmaster when I was a kid, but it wasn't an "addiction" until the last 4 or 5 years.
    Get a bicycle. You will not regret it if you live. ~Mark Twain

Duckin' Fonuts.
    Dec 2005
    I have been riding trails on bikes since I was a 6 year old kid in 1977. We all had BMX bikes back then but the trails were made by 50cc mini-bikes, and they wandered through the woods. I got my first 10 speed when I was 12, in 83, bought a real road racing bike in 86, and my first real mountain bike in 1988. Bridgeston MB-6 at 17 years old. So is it 29 years on trails, or 18 years on a "real" mtb?

RCC
    Bandolero
    About five years for me.i bought a gary fisher sugar4 to commute to work,hit the dirt five or so months later,and that was it for me! ii got hooked.been doing it non stop since then.peace...
    I heard the mission bell
    And i was thinking to my self
    This could be heaven or this could be hell...

mtbr member

Depends how you measure