Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

How did you buy your bike ???

19K views 244 replies 191 participants last post by  Mazukea 
#1 ·
For the most this is not a cheap hobby. A typical bike is about $400-$500 which can be just about a typical American's weekly salary for an entry bike, If you upgrade to 29er's, carbon or FS bikes they can be as expensive as 4-5k for a bike. People don't make that in a month. So with the cost of living going through the roof and our bills getting higher and higher. What type of funds did you use to buy your bike.

I charged mine to the "game" ... Visa game that is for my Giant 29er.

#99 ·
Paid cash for all of my bikes except for my very first bike, 1989 (or 1990) Specialized Hardrock. I financed the $300 or $400 bike when I was a starving college student.

I plan on paying cash for a new (or new-to-me) bike, but I'm going to sell a bunch of things that I'm not using such as two sets of track wheels, rain tires, dry tires, race wheel uprights/hubs, car body parts, a pro photo strobe system and a few other things. I should have enough for an even better bike than what I have now.

#100 ·
I Ebayed the majority of my bike in pieces. Ended up spending well over $1000.00 which is probably what I would of spent if I bought the bike as a whole, but this way, I get to put the parts I want on them as well as putting the bike together myself which the best part for me. Plus, I love bidding on stuff. I picked up a great 2010 Giant XTC1, brand new, for $200.00.

#103 ·
I have a savings account, specifically for bike-related purchases. X amount of money gets diverted there the 1st of every month from my checking account (plus random deposits, such as tax refund or cash deposits). I don't allow myself to exceed whatever is in savings. Every month, when it comes time to pay the credit card bill (100% paid off, every month), I'll move however much I spent that month into the bill-pay account.

So, in a round about way, I pay cash.