Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Help Save Central Montana Mountain Biking

Help us save mountain biking in Central Montana. The Helena/Lewis and Clark National Forest is taking comments. Post your comments and show your support. Thanks

Go here: Helena National Forest - Planning

Comment here:https://my.usgs.gov/ppgis/studio/launch/59310

Help Save Central Montana Mountain Biking-crystal-lake-6-13-11-031.jpgHelp Save Central Montana Mountain Biking-pug-w-m.jpgHelp Save Central Montana Mountain Biking-silver_gulch_june_07_011-1.jpgHelp Save Central Montana Mountain Biking-009.jpg

All fat, all the time.
    Ugh, sorry to see your area being hit with the wilderness designation too. Idaho lost a lot of great riding the past year because of it.

mtbr member
    Can someone post a summary of what MTB trails are in these areas? I'm willing to write letters but aside from the CDT I have no knowledge of what is up there.

Unfortunately all National Forests will be undergoing this wilderness inventory process under the 2012 planning rule. It doesn't mean all the areas in light green are proposed for wilderness recommendation, just that they have been identified as having wilderness characteristics. Typically these are the exact places MTBers value most, just like other trail users. So it is very important to get as many people writing in comments now that let the USFS know what areas are important to us, so they do not get recommended for wilderness.

mtbr member
    Thanks for bringing this matter to my attention. I will DEFINITELY be writing comments. I have been riding and otherwise recreating in most of these areas for 30+ years (my whole life, basically). I am a 5th-generation Montanan -- my relatives helped build some of the trails and routes in that area.