Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Have you ever lost The Passion?

2K views 22 replies 23 participants last post by  IamtheYeti 
#1 ·
Have you?

I started riding mountain bikes a long time ago, moved on to road bikes, and then back to mountain bikes. I currently commute on a 2007 Specialized HT Stumpjumper S-Works. I loved riding single track, loved it. Lately though, I have found myself running. :eekster:

I was planning on purchasing a fat bike or maybe a 650b to re-kindle my love for riding. However, I am having a hard-time convincing myself I want to drop a crap load of dough on a new bike. Part of it is definitely money related. Its not that I can't afford it, I just am not sure I want to right now.

Another part is that I am having a hard time finding a bike that I think I will love riding. It seems like there are so many options, and I am definitely having a hard time wrapping my head around what I want. Should I go 650b, try 29er, stay 26", try a fat bike, think about full-suspension, consider a full rigid... Arghhhhh....

The final part is because of where I currently reside. Most of the trails I ride here on Kodiak are hiking trails. They are taken care of for hikers only, have no flow, and many of them are very very narrow. I do a lot of hiking here, and have started running on the trails and on the road. I have gone from 158lbs down to 147lbs in a short period of time, like months, and I am continuing to lose weight quite rapidly. That isn't easy for someone who is 5'5 short and likes beer. Now I am even thinking about running a marathon next year. I also do most of my own bike maintenance, and I am even losing interest in that. I have sold every spare part I once had, and now just have my 26" HT. I even cancelled all my magazine subscriptions. What the heck is going on with me? :madman:

Guess it might be time to move on...

See less See more
#3 ·
"Have you ever lost The Passion?"