Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Have trail ratings made things better or worse?

Maybe it's the fact that I have yet to ride a trail I thought was over my head, or maybe I'm just not a *****, but it seems like trail ratings have been a bad thing. I'm not talking the lift served gravity riding at ski resorts, I'm okay with rating them. I mean for average XC trails.

I over hear talk all the time about how someone won't ride this or that trail because it's rated expert. I hear it in the shop when I'm working, I hear from my riding buddies who are new to riding. I see it on the internet. It's just annoying. How does anyone know they can't ride something if they don't try and how will they ever get better if they don't try?

Sometimes I wish I could drag my new riding buddies back to the root and rock infest trail I cut my riding teeth on so they can see where I started riding as a complete newb. Myabe then they'd stop making excuses as to why they can't go to the more technical trails.

If something was too hard, I walked, but only after trying and failing. Sometimes I tried the same section over and over again. Some days I tried once and moved on but would try again next time I rode. I got better because I tried.

I feel like rating trails makes new riders less likely to explore and progress. Just give the a map and let them loose. Why discourage them from trails because someone gave them and arbitrary rating?

Thoughts?

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    It's all subjective. What looks like an easy trail to one, will be a really hard trail to another. Here in Utah, for example, there are a lot of "beginner" XC trails that will be hard for an "expert" from the flatlands. Maybe it's just a way to rate what it's doable without really going all the way there and realizing that you're way over your head...
    With that said, riding a tough trail does help you get better, assuming that you survive ;-)