mtbr member

Finally get to use the Leatherman again

I have been carrying a leatherman in my pack for about 5 years and, until the other night, had only used it once before to free a kangaroo with its leg wrapped around a wire fence. While that was at least 2 years ago, like the old story of the lion and the mouse I am still waiting for the kangaroo to return the favour.

But at least I have now used the leatherman for a second time the other night. I was riding with some friends and mid-ride one of their lights went out. It was a Dinotte with home-made extension cable for the li-ion battery. The join between the wires wasn't too good and we needed to cut the connection, bare the wire and twist them back together.

The leatherman's pliers are not the best thing for the job, but it was certainly the best thing we had, and before too long we were back on the tracks.

Tim
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Wombat; 12-22-2007 at 11:28 AM.

mtbr member
    Mar 2005
    Very good! -GT2005

ENDO!!!
    I havent used my Leatherman much on the trail, but being in the Army I use it quite a bit, of course I have since moved on to a SOG and really enjoy it
    Just circles turning circles....

banned
    I almost always carry a Leatherman too. In fact, I find bike-specific tools useless and/or low in quality, so my emergency tools are assembled using higher quality hexes from a tool manufacturer, and a couple other pieces, such as a chain tool, then my leatherman.

In an emergency, few tools will compare to a multi-tool of this type. I use mine practically everyday in life outside of biking.

I am looking for a Sog multi-tool or a Gerber, but don't know how much more usable they would be. I note that my Leatherman (new) Wave does have rust spots certain tools.

PS-The reason you can't find ANYWHERE on the packaging or the tool itself of where the Leatherman is made is because they make it in Taiwan, then ship it here for assembly.

mtbr member