mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Eating Humble Pie - Yuck!

I started riding Mtn only 5 years ago, at 48 years of age. I was fat and unable to ride much at first. I was however hooked. Being the type to push myself, I was sick of the weight, and hungered to ride more. Living in So-Cal, I am surrounded by amazing riding. Early rides were 5-10 mile road rides, then a little trail stuff, and I began to eat cleaner. I started dropping the weight, and the more I lost, the more I rode. I remember seeing guys on here talking about rides where they gained 2,000 feet, and thinking you have to be shitting me. I got a Garmin, and started riding at altitude too. It never really got easier as the saying goes, I just rode further and higher.

I rode with many people from this site, as well as my Brother who is several years older than I, but a stud. I figured if he can do it, so can I. Each year, I track my performance. Total miles, elevation gain, and I still pale in comparison to many of you. I now ride 2-4 days per week, and my rides range from 10-30 miles and 1,200-4,000 feet gain. I have lost most all the weight, and my progress each year is substantial. I get super cranky if I do not ride, and I totally "jones" to ride. I crave it bad. I need it to be smooth, calm , and confident. Fortunately, my wife understands this, and supports my habit.

Many of the riders I first rode with used to leave me for dead. Now, not so much. One local Mtn I look at daily as I drive to work, and while it's a fire-road climb up and back, it's a beacon calling me to take it. These days, I am able to knock down most any climb, and do not like to lose. I challenged myself to do this ride that would be more elevation gain than my 53 year old body had ever tried. Not only more elevation, but more compressed. So I reached out to a rider whom I have ridden with before, and he is way younger, faster, fitter, better looking, and way nicer than I. He agreed to accompany me on my quest to take this Mtn.