Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    the half breed devil

cross post--do you wish you had gears sometimes during SS rides?

this is a question for those who ride both geared and SS.

those who have gone over entirely to the single speed camp need not participate.

during my ride today, a sudden weakness came over me on a steep climb i've easily cleared many, many times on my rigid SS. i would have made it if i'd had one of my geared bikes.

are there some days that the SS tries its best to kill you?

singletrack bound
    Don't know if this answers your question but I had been riding SS exclusively for 8 years and just this last summer I built up a HT 1x10 and I have been switching up the rides (although since the rains I have been going SS for the last couple weeks) between gears and SS.
    Riding a geared bike has changed up my rides a bit and has been a welcome change but honestly, I really really like riding the SS.
    Seems like when I ride the 1x10 I sometimes forget I have gears but I do go faster on the descents and find myself sitting and spinning on the climbs when I would most likely be standing on the SS.

Honestly, I don't miss the gears!

When I go into the shop to grab my ride, I gravitate towards the SS every time....

Maybe you just needed some food or something. Put some gas in the tank.

one speed is all you need!
    Sorrel Seeker !!

Ride More, Whine Less
    I've noticed that I tend to shift far less these days, so I effectively have a single speed. I do not regret having a few gears on rides though. I like the idea of a 2 x 1 set up.

mtbr member