Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2010

Good job! Confessions of a Roadie- MTB is insane (all of it)

So I did have a mtb a while ago, rode it a bit and loved it. Back in high school it was all I rode. Fast forward 16 years and I own my third mtb, an '05 Turner 6-Pack. I raced collegiate road for the last three years, did 9 triathlons, a double century, a few supported centuries, and averaged about 6-7kmiles (19-23mph avg) a year on the road. After just one hour on my new (to me) mtb, I was gassed out and ready for an IV bag.

The ride barely had any climbing, in fact, it was less than a couple hundred feet over ten miles. But it kicked my butt, legs, and my brain. I absolutely love being out on the trails. I'm a total noob at mtb, have no clue how to handle the bike in many situations, yet I go out every weekend to figure it out. I watched all the vids on how to ride, even got pumped up watching a few Collective vids, built my bike up from scratch so it was 100% mine. I now covet my mtb more than any other bike in my collection.

TL;DR- mountain biking is the best workout on two wheels, I love it!

mtbr member

RE: Confessions of a Roadie- MTB is insane (all of it)

Absolutely! Its akin to doing shuttles vs jogging, except you also need technical skills in mtb!
    Sent from my Lumia 920 using Board Express

MTB Fanatic
    Mountain bikers are elite in the realm of all cyclists. I've seen so many roadies just die on the dirt trails. It is way harder than it looks. Must be why I love it.
    Nathan

pin it
    I'm a former roadie convert to mtb... I went straight to DH in 2009. Never looked back
    F*ck Cancer

Eat your veggies

mtbr member
    Cycling is as hard as you make it, be it road or off-road.

I Tried Them ALL... Moderator