This place needs an enema

On boating, gorges, friends, and you. Yep, you.

Until recently I wasn't a boater.  I'd canoed and sea kayaked sporadically as a kid and young adult, but my participation was roughly akin to playing badminton or volleyball at the family reunion or company picnic: Half-hearted in the moment and forgotten immediately after.

Just a few years ago I had no interest in it and would have much rather spent my time on dirt, or rock, riding and playing and exploring the world via two wheels.

That was then.

These days I'd wager I split riding and boating roughly 60/40.  If I lived in a boatier place that fraction would likely be reversed.

A big part of the reason I spend so much time in water is, quite simply, Fang.  In his younger years he loved to run trails, but he's getting on in age and being in/on/around water just agrees much more with his constitution.

But that's not the only reason.

I've been exploring the American West on wheels for over 2 decades.  I'm nowhere close to running out of new places to ride, but I have gotten to the point where I can see that what's left to explore is not truly new or different, merely variations on familiar themes.  Were we discussing chess we'd be talking in terms of 'end games': I've seen where the limits (my own, those of my equipment, and those of small-minded land managers) lie, and with that came the realization that it was time for a new way to look at and interface with my backyard.

My first few trips with packrafts *did* involve bikes, and were incredibly gratifying in their own unique ways.  Lately, I've been far more smitten with using the boats not just to cross bodies of water, but to follow the watercourses and see what lies within.

In many ways my chosen passions are the same--following a route through the landscape, and learning what that route has to teach.  But in both execution and commitment they seem to be completely different.