mtbr dismember

Black Canyon Trail, Arizona

I've been riding the Black Canyon Trail, AZ, for the past three years, but always as an out and back from Black Canyon City. I had worked up to 40 miles and felt ready to try 50 miles. Whiplash lives a mile or so from the Black Canyon City trailhead, so we left my car at his house and shuttled north to Highway 69 near Mayer. This was an ideal setup because it allowed him to leave me early on and to not have to worry about when I finished. This time of year the first 8.5 miles was not very pretty, but it was a mix of fairly easy single track and dirt road, which allowed me to warm up gradually. From then on I found the trail nearly perfect and just my style. It was overcast for most of the ride, which made it very comfortable for riding, but poor for photos. Fortunately, the night before I had loaded a track on my GPS, because it was difficult finding the trail around one deep section of a river. And I often lost the trail when I came off a dirt road.