Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Slothful dirt hippie

Bike industry: don't take the 'mountain' out of our bikes (gearing + wheel size rant)

Not sure if I'm going to put this nagging idea out there properly, and I'm sure there's gonna be 50+ people insisting I'm doing it wrong, but please have some patience and hear me out....

I've been riding off an on since 1992, and the latest itch to scratch has been working my way into increasingly remote back country trails. The effort required is pretty intense so it's been a multi-year project even getting the skills and fitness to tear this stuff off... but oh man, the payback.... here's a picture of part of our local playground taken from a 6,400' peak I bagged Monday. We actually have bike legal ORV trails strung out on various valleys and basins to the ridge just in front of the biggest peak system in this pic.

Stupidly steep pitches (GPS said my descent that day had a couple points w 49% grade) going on for many miles/multiple thousands of feet of vert with anything from great to abominable to apocalyptic tread surfaces are par for the course. Long stretches of gut-popping granny gear herf and HAB is guaranteed. But somewhere in the suffering is also extravagant bliss.

So what's my beef? There's currently an unholy convergence of trends in the bike industry that aren't going to help with this sort of passion at all: gearing systems ratcheted up + larger wheel sizes.

To be clear:
    I'm NOT saying that the newer drive trains don't work/aren't awesome (that new SRAM 1x11 sure looks tasty).
    I'm NOT saying that the bigger hoops can't do these sort of trails (they do).

I'm simply saying that mathematically the combination is working together to wipe out multiple lowest end gears, which are the ones me and my peeps spend the most time in while riding in Real Mountains™.