mtbr member

The best thing about owning two bikes: wrenching on the old one!

I've been mountain biking, on and off, since the late 80s and have only ever had one bike. That changed recently when I bought a new Yeti ASR-5 even though my 2005 HT was still functioning fine.

With a brand new bike to ride, I am doing something I've never done before: Stripping my old bike down to the frame, thoroughly cleaning it, and rebuilding it.

MAN THIS IS FUN!

I've only ever minor maintenance on my bikes. I'll adjust a derailleur, change out a handlebar, replace a cassette, etc. But I've never done anything more than that. I've got the tools...I'm not sure how or when or why but over the last 20 or so years, I've built up a pretty good collection of tools...mainly Park. I've got cone wrenches, a chain whip, cassette lockring tools, a torque wrench, a few spanners, hex keys, etc.

The one thing I've never owned is a workstand. I just bought one and I've spent the last week slowly and methodically disassembling the bike down to the basic components and tearing those components down to their base.

I had no idea wrenching a bike could be this fun. I'm an engineer by degree so I've always had an affinity for how mechanical components work. Taking a mechanical disk brake down to the shell is candy for an engineer! Why am I discovering this just now? Mainly because of risk. With only one bike, I didn't want to risk extended downtime due to screwing something up or not knowing how to put something back together.

But with two bikes, I'm LOVING taking the first one apart and rebuilding it. I'm really getting into it. I cleared out a large area of my basement to dedicate to bikes. I built a nice long workbench. I put up a pegboard and organized all my tools. It's fun and it's a way to enjoy mountain biking when you're not actually riding!
    I live with fear and danger every day. And on the weekends she lets me go mountain biking.

100.oz minimum
    Mar 2013

Good Job!