Page 1 of 24 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2007

Best place to live and mountain bike????

I was wondering if some of you could fill me in on where it's best to live if you love mountain biking. I'm in the process of making some changes and am planning a move, but haven't decided where to. I'm confident finding work won't be a problem. I just need to be near a city large enough for a hospital or two (I work in healthcare).

I would like to live somewhere that has access to local trails, and has a large friendly cycling community. I also enjoy racing and hope to find somewhere that has a competitive local series. I also love other outdoor activities such as camping, hiking, skiing, and would like to learn to kayak.

If you think you have the best mountain biking trails and cycling community tell me why and help make my decision easier.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    I would say Denver or the surrounding area would be a good bet.

mtbr member
    Vancouver BC!

Drinker w/ Riding Problem
    Western North Carolina, cuz it's good

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Havent ridden there yet, but Portland Oregon seems to have everything you want in close proximity...

mtbr member
    According to Mountain Bike Action Magazine, the best place is Park City, Utah. Apparently everytime a company starts a housing development they have to build/add to mountain biking trails and they strictly enforce this law.
    "hit hard, hit fast, hit often HOOAH!!!!"

Blog of mine: http://mtnsprts.blogspot.com

I railed it like Kong
    Southern Utah has great riding but excpect a nice pay cut. Utah health care does not pay like other places. But the riding is year round and like no where else in the country.

Phoenix also has a great riding group and health care is booming there. riding available 10 months a year- 12 if you hate yourself. All the outdoors you want within a few hours drive in any direction- mounatins, lakes, desert, Mexico, Vegas.